Skip to Content
A home for paediatricians. A voice for children and youth.

Early Career Paediatrician Award

Celebrates the leadership qualities of an early career paediatrician and recognizes their exceptional contribution and commitment to advocating for child and youth health at the regional level. 

Current recipient(s): Dr. Ripudaman Minhas, Ontario

Dr. Ripudaman Minhas, Ontario

Dr. Ripudaman Singh Minhas is a developmental pediatrician and Assistant Professor of Pediatrics at St. Michael's Hospital, Unity Health Toronto. He is also the Director of Research for the hospital's Department of Pediatrics and the creator of OurKidsHealth Network—a multi-lingual social media-based research project which delivers evidence-based health information to families with diverse cultural identities. Dr. Minhas uses community-based participatory research methods to co-design and deliver interventions that support parents and caregivers from marginalized communities in fostering their children's developmental potential.

Dr. Minhas is passionate about making child health information accessible and inclusive for all families, and his work exemplifies this commitment.

Current recipient(s): Dr. Mahli Brindamour, Saskatchewan

Dr. Mahli Brindamour, Saskatchewan

Dr. Mahli Brindamour is a general pediatrician in Saskatoon. She completed medical school at the Université de Montréal and received her pediatrics training at the University of Saskatchewan. Dr. Brindamour is the past president of the Canadian Paediatric Society’s Global Child and Youth Health Section and is a member of the Caring for Kids New to Canada Task Force.

Dr. Brindamour has dedicated her practice to the care of underserved children and vulnerable populations. She co-founded Saskatoon’s Refugee Engagement and Community Health (REACH) Clinic, which offers team-based care for refugee children, in partnership with the Saskatoon Refugee Health Collaborative. Additionally, she provides outreach clinics to the northern Saskatchewan communities of Ile à la Crosse, La Loche, and Stony Rapids. She was the first pediatrician at Sanctum 1.5, a supportive home for mothers and infants at risk of or living with HIV.

In 2021, Dr. Brindamour joined the Saskatchewan Tuberculosis Prevention and Control Program as a TB consultant serving Northern First Nations communities. She serves on the boards of the Saskatchewan Prevention Institute and the North American Society of Refugee Healthcare Providers. Her interest in global health and infectious disease led her to become certified in 2022 with the ASTMH Certificate of Knowledge in Tropical Medicine and Traveler’s Health. In her spare time, she runs an outpatient general pediatrics practice and provides inpatient pediatric care at the Jim Pattison Children’s Hospital in Saskatoon.


The candidate must be a paediatrician and member of the Canadian Paediatric Society and have been in practice 10 years or less. Current voting members of the CPS Board of Directors and Membership Subcommittee members are not eligible to be nominated for the award.

The membership Subcommittee, in collaboration with the board member(s) for the region will judge candidates based on their leadership and commitment in the three following areas:

  • Patient Care (e.g., initiatives to improve the care of children and youth in their region; family-centred care focus; recognition of underserved/at-risk population and action to improve accessibility; innovative knowledge-to-practice initiatives)
  • Community Service (e.g. contribution to making their community more active, safe, and child and youth-friendly; advocacy at local/provincial/territorial and/or national level; volunteer or administrative leadership positions)
  • Teaching and Education (positive role model or mentor for junior trainees; leadership in public education; commitment to improving professional development for colleagues; spirit of scholarship)

There will be a maximum of one award per region per year.  The regions are:

  • British Columbia and Yukon
  • Alberta and Northwest Territories
  • Saskatchewan
  • Manitoba and Nunavut
  • Ontario
  • Quebec
  • New Brunswick and PEI
  • Nova Scotia
  • Newfoundland and Labrador


  • Letter of nomination from a CPS member specifically emphasizing how the candidate meets the criteria. 
  • Letter of support from a seconder affirming how the candidate meets the criteria.  This seconder may be an individual from another discipline or sector.
  • Updated CV for the nominee

The award is presented at a local meeting in the recipient’s community and announced at the Annual General Meeting of the CPS members.

Past recipients


Dr. Claire Seaton, B.C.


Dr. Andrea Andrade, Ont.


Dr. Tom McLaughlin, B.C.


Dr. Stacey Marjerrison, Ont.


Dr. Norman McLean, Man.

Last updated: May 18, 2023