

Joint statement of the Adolescent Health Committee and Adolescent Health Section of the Canadian Paediatric Society

As a national group representing paediatricians, adolescent medicine specialists and other allied health care providers across Canada, we are dedicated to advocating for the health of diverse populations of youth, including Black, Indigenous and People of Colour (BIPOC). We are saddened, horrified and angered at the racism and support for racism that we are witnessing in the world right now and also in Canada. Our hearts go out to the Black youth, families and communities so profoundly impacted by the recent loss of Black lives both in the United States and Canada.

We also know that this is not enough, and humbly acknowledge our privilege and power. In that privilege we refuse to be silent and complacent as this only serves to reinforce the conditions that continue to promote injustice and structural racism in our communities and institutions. We apologize for when we were silent.

As members of the Adolescent Health Committee and Adolescent Health Section of the Canadian Paediatric Society, we oppose hate and racism in all of its forms. Racism is a social determinant of health that undermines adolescent development and has a profound and lifelong impact on youth and their health status.

We acknowledge that we do not hold all the answers. What we do know is that the only way to find real answers is in listening to your voices and learning from you. Together we can initiate true change to the social conditions and structures that continue to lead to racial disparities for BIPOC youth in Canada.

As a group of dedicated health care providers, we want you to know that you matter. Black youth, with all of your hopes, thoughts, passions, and futures matter. Black lives matter.

Sincerely,

Ellie Vyver, MD, FRCPC Chair, Adolescent Health Committee Past President, Adolescent Health Section Canadian Paediatric Society Megan Harrison, MD, FRCPC President, Adolescent Health Section Canadian Paediatric Society

Co-signatories

Holly Agostino, MD, FRCPC

Franziska Baltzer, MD, FRCPC

Richard Bélanger, MD, FRCPC

Heidi Budden, MD, FRCPC

Nicholas Chadi, MD, MPH, FRCPC

Megan Cooney, MD, FRCPC

Marian Coret, MD

Giuseppina Di Meglio, MD, MPH, FRCPC

Julius Erdstein, MD, FRCPC

April Elliott, MD, FRCPC

Sheri Findlay, MD, FRCPC

Christina Grant, MD, FRCPC

Rosheen Grady, MD, FRCPC

Johanne Harvey, MD, MPH, FRCPC

Sara Jassemi, MD, FRCPC

Natasha Johnson, MD, FRCPC

Debra Katzman, MD, FRCPC

Pei Yoong Lam, FRACP, FRCPC

Margo Lane, MD, FRCPC

Simone Lebeuf MD, FRCPC

Karen Leis, MD, FRCPC

Karen Leslie, MD, MEd, FRCPC

Sarah Manos MD, FRCPC

Eva Moore, MD, MSPH, FAAP

Jorge Pinzon, MD, FRCPC

Amy Robinson, MD, FRCPC

Allison Rodrigues, MD, FRCPC

Katie Soper, MD, FRCPC

Danielle Taddeo, MD, FRCPC

Gillian Thompson, MN, NP-Paediatrics

Alene Toulany, MD, MSc, FRCPC

Ashley Vandermorris, MD, FRCPC

Dzung X. Vo, MD, FAAP